Birthday Cake Sugar Cookies

20161103_145056Sometimes you’ll hear me rummaging through the kitchen cabinets looking to see which ingredients are running low. But if that isn’t the reason, then I am always looking to experiment or enhance a recipe.

In this case I wanted to create a really soft sugar cookie then my usual decorated sugar cookies. Plus I wanted them to taste just like a vanilla birthday cake, light, sweet and soft.

The recipe I used would be your typical chocolate chip cookie recipe (you can find one on the back of the Nestle Toll house morsel bag) however I added extra vanilla extract and 1/3 cup of Vanilla pudding mix (I only had half a packet left but will use a whole box next time). I also used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I don’t like overly sweet cookies and I love a buttery tasting cookie.

I personally omit the eggs in the majority of cookie recipes I bake. I find that you get a better flavor and the cookie has a longer shelf left and taste really fresh.

Plus I add about a teaspoon or tablespoon of white distilled or apple cider vinegar depending on the recipe (and no, you wont tasted it). But if you prefer you can use egg whites.

*If you omit the eggs and want a crispier cookie just let it bake for about 2-3 minutes  more and you will have a nice crunchy cookie after it cools.

Just follow the recipe but sift the dry vanilla pudding mix with the other dry ingredients.

Don’t forget to sprinkle sprinkles…lol to accomplish the birthday cake theme. And you can even lightly drizzle icing sugar over the cookies first then sprinkles.

 

 

Leave a Reply

