All-Spice Pumpkin Delight!

pict1059

This past week I’ve been wondering what I could possible make with a pumpkin. Now this would be a challenge because, I have never eaten pumpkin beforeso I knew I would have to make something that I would definitely enjoy. So, until now making a pumpkin pie was out of the question. I chose to make a pumpkin cake, but more like a carrot cake.. because I added crushed pineapples, nuts, shredded coconut, nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger, mashed potato (but u can use applesauce), and some clove. Now the recipe I am about to share is the basic recipe for a pumpkin cake without my added ingredients. After I baked my cake, it had great flavor and texture.. its heavy and dense as if I baked a Carribbean Fruit Cake or Potato Cake. This is something different then your everyday cake, it is definitely not light and fluffy and is something you can enjoy with a cup of coffee. I am very pleased with the out come because it has a little island flavor to it. So lets begin;

2 cups white Sugar ( I used 1 cup brown sugar & 1 cup white sugar)

1 1/4 cup vegetable Oil (I used 1 stick unsalted butter, 1/2 cup vegetable oil)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I also used 1 tsp rum)

2 cups canned Pumpkin  (I used 2 cups fresh pumpkin puree)

4 eggs

2 cups all-purpose Flour (I used 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour)

3 teaspoon Baking powder

2 teaspoon baking soda (I omitted the baking soda)

1/4 teaspoon Salt

2 teaspoons ground Cinnamon (I used 2 tablespoons ground cinnamon)

1 cup chopped Walnuts (Optional)

My added ingredients (Optional)

1 teaspoon Nutmeg

1 1/2 teaspoon ground clove

1 teaspoon ground ginger or fresh shredded ginger

1/3 cup of crushed, drained Pineapples

1/2 cup shredded coconut

1/2 cup mashed potato

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour your bundt pan or any pan of your choosing. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon. (plus nutmeg, ground clove, ground ginger, optional) set aside.

2. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar. Blend in oil, vanilla and pumpkin. (plus coconut, shredded ginger, pineapples, and mashed potato, optional) Then beat in eggs one at a time. Gradually stir in flour and nuts. Pour batter into prepared pan.

3. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 minutes to 1 hour, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Bake time depends on what baking pan you use. Allow to cool and Enjoy!

Goes great with cream cheese icing!

Leave a Reply

