Poured Cookie Icing Vs Royal Icing!

Recently I published a post for Halloween cookies, with Royal Icing. I forgot to give the other recipe for Poured Icing. Royal Icing will dry hard but if you also want your cookies to have a high gloss with hardness, the Poured Cookie Icing recipe will do the trick. I used Royal Icing for my Christmas cookies in “My Christmas Rush” post, which hardened and the icing was thick. I have also used the Poured Cookie Icing recipe, which will dry thin, but shiny and hard like my cookies in my post called,”Cookies, Cookies, Cookies”. After they dried, I then took food coloring and some water and drew on the cookies, giving the butterfly flames, and the other butterfly a clothes line ..lol. I was able to draw on the cookies because they dried hard and white, making a prefect surface for drawing and painting.

1 cup confectioner sugar

2 tsp milk

2 tsp light corn syrup

1. place sugar and milk in bowl.

2. Stir until well combined

3. Add corn syrup and mix well

4. For filling in areas, use thinned icing ( add small amounts of lightcorn syrup until desired consistency).

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Marnie says:

    i’m getting color flow and poured icing mixed up – does poured icing have a better taste than color flow? I know both look great, but which one are people more likely to eat?

  2. brilliantcakes3000 says:

    Marnie,

    That is a very good question, and I am so glad you asked.

    Color Flow:
    From what I have read & experienced, Color Flow Decorations are very sweet and dry hard, so it is not usually eaten. I think using Color Flow depends on what your using it for, most bakers make an icing copy of a picture or pattern to place on top of their cake as decoration.

    Poured Icing:
    Personally I like poured icing, plus you can buy clear imitation vanilla extract and flavor the icing. Like you said, both look great, but I think poured icing, along with adding a little flavor tastes better and would be more edible then Color Flow.

    If there is any other questions about anything else, please feel free to ask.

  3. Christina says:

    Can you freeze cookies decorated with the poured icing?

  4. brilliantcakes3000 says:

    Hi Christina,

    Thanks for asking.

    Once I baked a big batch of cookies which were decorated with poured icing for christmas and I had a few lefted over amoung other things, so I freezed them in an air tight container for about a month.

    When I took them out, I warmed them up a little in the microwave and they tasted just the same. So yes, you can freeze cookies decorated with poured icing.

    In my opinion, the best way to freeze the cookies and still have them tasting great, is to use good quality extract. I use Pure Madagascar Vanilla Extract, and the alcohol will preserve your cookies.

    Also, if your poured icing is going to be colored then you can add a few drops of the Vanilla extract or any pure extract to preserve the icing too and if your poured icing is going to stay white or a pale color, then you can use clear imitation extract so the extract wont alter your icings color.

    If theres any other questions about anything else, please feel free to ask.

  5. Haley says:

    I want to make poured cookie icing ahead of time. How long will in last and where should I store it?

  6. brilliantcakes3000 says:

    Hi Haley,

    Good question.
    Since your making Poured Cookie Icing ahead of time, you can store it in your refrigerator not freezer; I would say for about a month or more providing that you add whatever extract of your choice to perserve the icing and giving it flavor. Store your icing in a microwavable dish so when you are ready to use your icing, all you would have to do is just warm it up in your microwave.
    If theres any other questions please feel free to ask. Thanks!

  7. Christina says:

    In one of your posts you said that the icing will last a least a month in the refrigerator. But the icing has milk in it. Won’t that spoil? Once the cookies are iced do they have to be refrigerated because of the milk?

  8. brilliantcakes3000 says:

    Hi Christina,

    Thanks for asking.

    The best thing I can tell you, which you already know is to use fresh milk. The icing which contains milk should not spoil in the refrigerator just like a gallon of milk in your refrigerator.

    Milk usually expires within a month. In the recipe you will only be using 1 or 2 teaspoons of milk, and along with whatever pure extract you use (which helps to preserve your icing); the cookies should be prefectly good, stored for about a month.

    And no your cookies do not have to be refrigerated when iced. As long as you keep them in an air tight container, on your counter, dinning room table or wherever, they will be fresh for a few weeks.
    if you have any other questions please feel free to ask.

  9. Dawn ballain says:

    Can you color the poured icing? Was going to make a color base.

  10. brilliantcakes3000 says:

    Hi Dawn,

    Yes, you can add color to the poured icing. You can use the store bought food coloring or Wiltons gel coloring. A few drops to get the desired color you want, will not affect the consistancy. If it does, you can always add a little more confectioner’s sugar for a richer color. Wish you much success & Happy Holidays!

    Thanks for asking!

  11. Susan says:

    I am a “do it yourself” kind of person and want to make cookies (decorated for a wedding) ahead of time and freeze them. Will freezing affect the color of the royal icing?

  12. brilliantcakes3000 says:

    Hi Susan,

    I would recommend that you do not freeze your decorated royal icing cookies, because when your cookies defrost, the colors from your royal icing will start to bleed as if softens.

    The best option is to make your cookies a day ahead and store them in an air tight container.

    P.S You can try keeping them cool in your refrigerator by turning your refrigerator’s temperature down, but that is just my opinion.

    Good Luck! And let me know how things went.

  13. Nova says:

    I was wondering how you would store colour flow icing. Would you do it any differently than putting it in the fridge in an air tight container? And can you freeze it? And how long will it last?

    Thanks

  14. Kelly says:

    I am doing a fundraising bake sale and was going to do cookies with the poured icing. Since I have no clue the type of weather we will be facing will the poured icing fair well in the heat and sunshine, or will it melt. I am really hoping it will do good because I have decided not to do cupcakes for this reason and cant imagine not doing decorated cookies as well. 🙂 Thanks.

  15. brilliantcakes3000 says:

    Hi Kelly,

    Great question!

    I would suggest using Royal Icing. Because royal icing dries very hard and will stand up longer then poured icing. The icing will probably sweat a little if it is very hot, but I am pretty sure that the royal icing will last longer than poured icing.

    P.S. I wish you much success with your bake sale! And I doubt your cookies will be around long enough to melt! 🙂

  16. Anonymous says:

    Freezing cookies with Royal Icing works. I made 4dz sugar cookies and covered them with Royal Icing and froze them for about 3 months. They came out great. Just make sure that the icing is completly dry first.

  17. Tambi Martin says:

    I have a question – can this Poured Cookie Icing be made ahead and then kept in the refrigerator and this broght to room temperature when ready to use. I’m trying to put together sugar cookie dough and icing to give as party favors later this month.
    Thank you.

  18. Anonymous says:

    Hi there!

    I was wondering how long Royal Icing made with pasteurized egg whites will last in the fridge? I flavour it with pure Madagascar vanilla extract.

    Also, if I add a little corn syrup to my ‘egg white’ Royal icing recipe, will it help not to make it so rock hard?

    Thanks so much,

    Vanessa

  19. brilliantcakes3000 says:

    Hi Tambi,

    Good question and yes your Poured Cookie Icing can be made ahead of time and kept in the refrigerator.

    Thank You,
    – Tambi

  20. brilliantcakes3000 says:

    Hi,
    Your Royal Icing made with pasteurized egg whites should last a month in the fridge, plus its flavored with quality extract.

    As far as adding corn syrup to the Royal Icing recipe, I do think it will soften the icing. Hopefully the surface will remain hard and the center will be soft. It will take some experimenting and it all depends on what you plan to do with your cookies, whether they will be packaged or displayed.

    Thank You!
    – Anonymous

Leave a Reply

